A Day On The Mountain!


Well, today was a fun day, full of adventure, painting and road trips! The day started out as a usual day, quiet, no flea market that got canceled. So, sitting and thinking about or rather trying not to think about how I am going to make it to NH, with the money I have (not enough). When my friend suggested we go to the mountains to paint. Maybe we could make a little money, but mostly we have talked about doing this for a while. We never seem to have the time to go, and with only a few days until leaving time, she figured now or never!

So, we loaded up my girl, sad and old as she is, and off we went to go to the Great Smokey Mountains National Park. Once we started driving, my friend became aware of how sad my poor car is at going uphill. She started thinking, that she would not make it up the step hills in the national park. So, we changed our plans and headed to Greenbriar park in the Smokeys. W It took us a little while to get there, and I noticed my car was running a little warm, so I told Sherry, when we get home later, remind me to check the fluids.

We arrive and find a nice spot under cover, at a picnic table and unloaded all our painting supplies and started to work. The winds today are ferocious, storms on the way and my acrylics were drying about as fast as I could load them on the brush. Both of us were having problems with gnats getting into our paints and onto our canvases. A few people came by, nothing crazy, and then this one couple came to talk to us and watch us work. They were from Indiana, and he brought out a cane from his car and asked Sherry if she could paint it. She was working with oils and knew it would be a while before the paint would dry, so she sent him over to me. It was a nice walking stick, with an old man’s face carved into the top of it. So, I told him $10 to fill it in with paint and I started to work. All told it took me maybe a half an hour and the work was done, it turned out really cute. He liked it, then he handed me a twenty, that was cool, I asked if he wanted his change and he said no. Off they went and I was thrilled to make gas money plus to go out to the park today. It was a lot of fun!

The ride home was interesting, we tried to come back the back roads to avoid all the traffic in town ( Rod Run is this weekend), unfortunately they were doing some blasting, and managed to cause an avalanche on the roads. We were forced to go back into town and fight the traffic back. My poor car, here she is low on water, and I am doing the crawl for miles in traffic. Thankfully we made it home without a glitch, and the storms are really starting to come over us now (just in the nick of time)!

Tonight, is an early night, weather willing, I will be at the Flea Market tomorrow. So, I will need lots of rest. God willing, I will win some money in the lottery tonight and I can go to NH with out money problems in a Brand New Car, and retire my girl (that would be the greatest! I think I will pray on that tonight! Anyway, hoping you are having a wonderful evening, where ever you are, sending you my love as always, diana

www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=100000810145663

www.etsy.com/shop/smilingpackrat

dianaswonderworks.wordpress.com

dianaswonderworks.blogspot.com

www.zibbet.com/DianasWonderworks

www.artfire.com/users/dianaswonderworks

http://www.twitter.com/DianasWondrWrks

www.zazzle.com/DianasWonderworks*

http://myworld.ebay.com/dianasmile4663

http://www.ehow.com/members/dianepugh

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

