Wounded


I went for a walk today. Wondering through the trees, I felt peace and quiet well over me. As the stillness crept over me, my heart went back to yesterday and I began to yearn for things lost. Then out of the quiet I heard a whimper, and the grass moved. I looked around me, and saw there in the bushes a small rabbit. It wasn’t quite a baby, but it was young, new to this place we live in and helpless still, in many ways. When it saw me looking, it cowered back, shrinking back into the the brush behind the tree. I waited for a moment wondering, should I follow, go towards this little creature afraid of me. Then I wondered, is it hurt, does this tiny little rabbit need care or aide? My curiosity got the better of me, a common problem in my life and I moved forward. Very slowly, careful not to make a sound or any sudden moves, just in case it was hurting or that in its fear of me it would panic and hurt itself. Not wanting to carry that burden, I moved forward with caution, ever mindful of this tiny animal and its view of me.

I finally was close enough to to peer around the tree just enough to see the pile of branches and leaves that was hidden from my view earlier. I stopped, no sound came to my ears, my heat pumping rapidly, wondering “Did it run, and I not see it?” But, as I peered closely, and let my eyes adjust to the shadows, I saw it. At the same time it saw me, but this time it did not run, it started to shiver and shake. My heart felt sad, for fear is not what I intended. Then I saw in the darkness of the shade a wound on his leg. The back leg had a gash, the poor creature was scared and hurting, and probably too tired to run unless absolutely necessary. Slowly I backed up and found a tree further away to watch over it.

As soon as I stepped back it began to relax, it’s heart rate slowed, and it’s breathing calmed. Then after a few minutes it stretched out it’s leg and began to lick it’s wound. Slowly and carefully at first, and looking warily my way to make sure it was safe. Then as the wound was cleansed, more rapidly and diligently it cleaned itself and thoughts of me seemed to pass from it’s mind. I watched in awe, and feeling sadness and empathy for it’s pain and suffering. Then realizing, that this is the way of things. Pain will come and pass, we all suffer from it in some form or another. Like this little creature, we all need time to regroup, heal, find our strength and remember what we are capable of. Then like a shot of lightening, I realized this little creature was me. In this moment my wounds hurt, and cause me pain. I try to hide from all who would interrupt this process. It is my pain, it is real, no one but me needs to understand my process. It needs to be done, not only to heal, but to also grow and realize that some pain is avoidable and if I am smart enough and diligent enough, I can avoid some, and overcome all!

Hope you are having a wonderful day, sending my love as always, diana

www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=100000810145663

www.etsy.com/shop/smilingpackrat

dianaswonderworks.wordpress.com

dianaswonderworks.blogspot.com

www.zibbet.com/DianasWonderworks

www.artfire.com/users/dianaswonderworks

http://www.twitter.com/DianasWondrWrks

www.zazzle.com/DianasWonderworks*

http://myworld.ebay.com/dianasmile4663

http://www.ehow.com/members/dianepugh

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

