Happy Days Are Here Again!


 

Well, just got in. Left work a little early to have a apinting framed. Quiet day at the gallery, just a couple of people, no sales. Slow time of year for sure. Ready to eat something and get to work painting. Not sure if I am planning on working on the Mermaid, ,might just wait on that, until I am sure what I am doing. Thinking about a Sunflower one again, a part 2 of the Big One!

Just checked my lottery, not a millionaire yet, but hey, tomorrow is another day and another drawing. Never can tell what tomorrow will bring.

Driving home tonight, I was remembering making noodles with my grandmother as a child. It is such a cool memory, and so different by today’s standards. I remember her rolling out all that dough, spreading flour on it, rolling it out to a paper thin sheet. No fancy rolling machines for! Then she would lay out this huge sheet on her bed to dry out. It had to be four feet, in a huge circle. Then the next morning, my sisters and I would her by making the noodles. She would cut some for a dumpling style noodle, and we had the fun job, She cut others into squares or like a diamond shape. She had this board with ridges in it. We took the noodle laid it out on this board, and with a wooden stick (round and short and thinner than a chop stick), we would press down on the noodle and roll it across the board. It made a tubular noodle with ridges down the center. The top and bottom were not ridged, but made a point. Every day grandpa had to have home made chicken soup. So, every day grandma went out to the yard (they lived on a farm), and she killed a chicken, we had to help her pluck it. Then she made the soup, fresh meat, fresh noodles, it was the best ever! Thinking to myself, I really want to make those again someday. Nothing can compare, I guess that is why I do not like a lot of soups, tastes like water to me. Lost the thrill at an early age, once you have had the best it is hard to go back.

Anyway, just thought I would share. Not so sure how many of you have that memory. A little different from the usual American childhood, I guess. Surprise me, I would love to know if anyone else has a similar memory. Lots of the fancier restaurants now a days are bringing the whole fresh noodle back again. So, clearly I am not the only one to appreciate this delicacy. Another new picture is posted hope you like it. Sending out my love to you as always, hoping you are having a great day! diana

 

www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=100000810145663

www.etsy.com/shop/dianaswonderworks

www.etsy.com/shop/smilingpackrat

dianaswonderworks.wordpress.com

dianaswonderworks.blogspot.com

www.zibbet.com/DianasWonderworks

www.artfire.com/users/dianaswonderworks

http://www.twitter.com/DianasWondrWrks

www.zazzle.com/DianasWonderworks*

http://myworld.ebay.com/dianasmile4663

http://www.ehow.com/members/dianepugh

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

