Dental Blues!


Well, today I went to the dentist as planned. It being a clinic it was very time consuming, especially since I had an x-ray done and only a short consultation. I went to my appointment at the time given 9:00 am, unfortunately when they gave me the appointment they did not mention that they book everyone at 9 am. I arrived at ten minuted till nine and found I was the last of the morning appointments to arrive. The dentist does not show up until nine thirty am, and they don’t even start taking people back there until ten fifteen. That is one thing I will never understand about clinics, why have people come in at a certain time, and the doctors don’t sow up until later. I mean really, I may not have a doctorate degree, but does that mean my time is less valuable than a person who does?

Anyway, not only is he late, but we further have to wait when he does get there, which is even more ridicules! Anyway, at eleven fifteen am I finally get to go back there to see the dentist. At ten forty-five I had to get my x-ray of my tooth in question. I am explaining it this way because I do have a point. When I get back there, last as I explained, he tells me he does not feel comfortable taking the tooth. Now, to me, if he was that uncomfortable with it, couldn’t he have taken me back earlier, to let me know. The deal is, my tooth had a root canal years ago, and luckily for me this dentist said, my old dentist did an exceptional job on it. What I did not know is that when the root is taken the tooth dies. Now, a dead tooth becomes extremely brittle and like a twig can and will snap when you put pressure on it, ex: putting pliers on it to pull it. What will happen is when you try to pull the tooth, generally the piece they are holding onto, to pull it out, well it will break off. So, in other words he said he would do it if I wanted too, be it would be painful, and tie intensive, and at some point would require him to be digging the tooth out of my gums! Now, raise your hand if this sounds like a good plan! I am assuming you did not raise your hand, unless you are very much into masochism.

Okay, so the good news is that the tooth is not infected, because the previous dentist did sure a stand up job. Also, good news, this dentist said that my gums were very healthy and I did not need to take it out, immediately. He recommended, I go to an oral surgeon to have the work done, when I was indeed ready to have it done. I am so very pleased that my day did not end with me babying a hole in my gum. Just a little miffed that my time was so stupidly wasted. I think it would have been appropriate, to pull me back for this five minute consultation, and let me on my merry way. It does not seem to me, that this would have insulted the other patients in any way, and it would have allowed me to go on with my day, doing something productive. By, the look of stress on his face, it could have gotten him off the hook sooner as well.

Enough of the fun for today, hope your day is going great. Sending out my love to you and yours, diana

www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=100000810145663

www.etsy.com/shop/dianaswonderworks

www.etsy.com/shop/smilingpackrat

dianaswonderworks.wordpress.com

dianaswonderworks.blogspot.com

www.zibbet.com/DianasWonderworks

www.artfire.com/users/dianaswonderworks

http://www.twitter.com/DianasWondrWrks

www.zazzle.com/DianasWonderworks*

http://myworld.ebay.com/dianasmile4663

http://www.ehow.com/members/dianepugh

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

