Job Ettiquette, Is It Dead?


Well, it really has been a minute. I did work on Friday and Saturday, and yesterday, it was all about recuperating. I could barely walk, blisters on the bottoms of my feet and hands swollen, it was a pampering day for me. Not a complaint, just an explanation for my absence. Hoping you had a great weekend! Anyway back to the title of this page. Just another little anecdote from my life. I was working at a banquet on Friday and Saturday, busy days for sure. If you have ever done banquets it is a busy job. All your costumers get seated at the same time, pretty much. And it is none stop running to take care of everyone! It is fun, time flies and for me it is work! In between meals, we were responsible for things like rolling silverware for the guests and cleaning tables and making iced tea, or coffee, or what ever the suitable beverage for the meal was. My story taks place while we were rolling silverware on Friday.

Several of us are sitting at these tables, and this young man starts to talk about tripping on acid, smoking weed, popping pills and getting drunk ( you know what I mean a very young man, early twenties). So, he gathers a few followers to the conversation, and they are all basically comparing notes and laughing it up about the drugs they take and things they have done when they are high. Finally, he tries to get me involved in the conversation, with a “What about you? What do you do for fun?” I replied that I have an occasional drink and I smoke cigarettes, which I need to quit smoking for sure. He cracks up, and says, “I bet you do more than that!” I smiled back at him and said “I have had my moments, but they are not to be shared here, there is a place and a time.” He says back to me that he has had this conversation with the server in charge . I explained to him, that I was brought up differently, I liked this job and was not going to risk not getting to come back over a silly conversation, a conversation that was inappropriate for being at work, especially at a temporary job. This is an opportunity to present yourself in the best possible light, a chance to show this particular employer and the temporary service, what kind of an employee you really are. He looked at me like I just spanked him, and gave me some kind of snotty answer back. I said, look, do what you want, I just don’t want in it. The head server pops up at this point and takes this young man and a few others at the table to do something else. As soon as he walks away, the young girl sitting next to me, lets out a big sigh and says to me ” I am so glad you said something, thanks.” I aid sure, I wasn’t trying to be rude to him, but I wanted to be clear, that I was not going to be party in this conversation and why. She replied, “This is awkward for me, I work at the temporary service, I just came out to make some extra hours on my check. Now, I have to figure out if I should say something at the office or just let it go, like I am not the one that recruits. I just wanted to tell you appreciated you saying something to stop it!” To which I laughed, ironic,huh? I never said anything more to him, not my place and she wanted to be annonymo9us anyway. But, it just goes to show you, watch what you say and do, you never know who is watching or listening!

All my love to you all, have a great day, diana

www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=100000810145663

www.etsy.com/shop/dianaswonderworks

www.etsy.com/shop/smilingpackrat

dianaswonderworks.wordpress.com

dianaswonderworks.blogspot.com

www.zibbet.com/DianasWonderworks

www.artfire.com/users/dianaswonderworks

http://www.twitter.com/DianasWondrWrks

www.zazzle.com/DianasWonderworks*

http://myworld.ebay.com/dianasmile4663

http://www.ehow.com/members/dianepugh

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

